Bagheria


According to various sources the origin of the name Bagheria is Phoenician term Bayharia meaning “an area that descends toward the sea”. The first buildings were watchtowers constructed along the coast sometime around the 15th century. Around these the first meagre farmhouses the farm labourers working the lands of the nobility were built. The main crops were vines, olives, almonds and prickly pears.

    After a bitter disappointment at not being appointed viceroy of Palerno, Giuseppe Branciforti, Count of Raccuja, decided to withdraw to Bagheria in 1658 where he built Villa Butera which was to become his permanent home. This is how the city of Bagheria came into existence and drew not only such an important person to the countryside but also a small court which was sustained by the wealth of the Branciforti. In 1769 Salvatore Branciforti, the Prince of Butera and grandson of the Count of Raccuja, produced the first urban plan of Bagheria. First he built a large building up against the medieval castle to join the Butera Palace with the new via Palermo-Messina, then he laid out the large main street named “corso Butera” and at right angles he laid out another large street as far as the “pilasters” that marked the boundary of his estate. Finally he arranged the centre of the town by building the Chiesa Madrice (cathedral church) which provides the backdrop to the Stradonello (present day corso Umberto I). After construction of the Branciforti castle the urban and suburban expansion of Bagheria progressed in leaps and bounds with the building of almost all the sumptuous villas, castles and palaces of the nobles of Sicily. Bagheria thus became the preferred resort of the aristocracy of Palermo. The town became a municipality (with annexation of the Aspra Marinara district) on 21 September 1826 thanks to a royal decree signed by Francesco I.

    A tour of this location is a journey into the past to discover the roots of Sicily, but it is also a journey in the present and perhaps the future. Business, agriculture and the public sector represent the main sources of occupation together with light industry connected with the transformation and conservation of local agricultural products, primarily tomatoes and lemons.
    Shopping is done mostly in the centre. Besides the clothes shops there are sports, furniture and food shops.

     

    Informations


    What to see


    Palazzo Cutò

    Palazzo Cutò

    Palazzo Galletti Inguaggiato

    Palazzo Galletti Inguaggiato

    Villa	Villarosa

    Villa Villarosa

    Villa	Ramacca

    Villa Ramacca

    Madrice church

    Madrice church

    Church of the Anime Sante

    Church of the Anime Sante

    Church of the  Santo Sepolcro

    Church of the Santo Sepolcro

    Villa San Cataldo

    Villa San Cataldo

    Villa Trabia

    Villa Trabia

    Villa Valguanera

    Villa Valguanera

    Palazzo Butera

    Palazzo Butera

    Villa Cattolica

    Villa Cattolica

    Villa Palagonia

    Villa Palagonia


    Share

    KEEP UP TO DATE WITH OUR SCHEMES

    Follow our social channels and subscribe to the newsletter

Bagheria


Der Name Bagheria stammt verschiedenen Quellen zufolge vom phönizischen Begriff Bayharia „Gebiet, das zum Meer absteigt“. Die ersten Bauwerke entstanden im 15. Jahrhundert in Form von Wachtürmen entlang der Küste. Um sie herum wurden die ersten armseligen Landhäuser der Arbeiter errichtet, die auf den Ländern der Adligen arbeiteten. Es werden hauptsächlich Weinreben, Olivenbäume, Mandeln und Kaktusfeigen angebaut.

  • Bagheria

Im Jahr 1658 entschied sich Giuseppe Branciforti, Graf von Raccuja, nach einer bitteren politischen Enttäuschung über die ausgebliebene Ernennung der spanischen Regierung, ihn zum Vizekönig von Palermo zu ernennen, nach Bagheria zurückzuziehen, wo er die Villa Butera baute, die sein endgültiger Wohnsitz wurde. Auf diese Weise entstand die Stadt Bagheria, die neben einer so bedeutenden Persönlichkeit auch die Verlegung eines kleinen Gefolges aufs Land mit sich bringt, das sich seinen Lebensunterhalt aus den Reichtümern der Banciforti verdient. 1769 erstellte Salvatore Branciforti, Fürst von Butera, Enkel des Grafen von Raccuja, den ersten städtebaulichen Plan von Bagheria. Er baute zunächst ein großes Gebäude, das sich an das mittelalterliche Schloss lehnte. Um den Butera-Palast mit der neuen Palermo-Messina-Straße zu verbinden, ließ er die große Hauptstraße abstecken, die „Corso Butera“ genannt wird. Orthogonal zu dieser Straße steckte er eine weitere große Straße bis zu den „Pfeilern“ ab, die seinen Besitz abgrenzten. Schließlich ordnete er das Stadtzentrum mit dem Bau der Kirche von Madrice an, die als Kulisse für die „Stradonello“ (große Straße; dem gegenwärtigen Corso Umberto I.) diente. Nach dem Bau des Schlosses Branciforti sah die Stadt- und Vorstadterweiterung von Bagheria mit dem Bau prächtiger Villen, Schlösser und Paläste fast aller adeligen Herren von Sizilien eine große Entwicklung. Bagheria wurde dadurch zum privilegierten Urlaubsort des Adels aus Palermo. Die Stadt wurde am 21. September 1826 durch ein von Francesco I. unterzeichnetes königliches Dekret autonome Gemeinde (mit der angrenzenden Ortschaft Aspra Marinara).

Ein Besuch von diesem Ort ist eine Zeitreise in die Vergangenheit auf der Entdeckung der Wurzeln Siziliens, aber auch eine Reise in die Gegenwart und vielleicht in die Zukunft. Handel, Landwirtschaft und der öffentliche Dienst sind nach wie vor die wichtigsten Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten zusammen mit der Kleinindustrie, die mit der Verarbeitung und Konservierung landwirtschaftlicher Erzeugnisse verbunden ist: in erster Linie Tomaten und Zitronen.

Einkäufe konzentrieren sich hauptsächlich auf das Zentrum. Neben Bekleidung gibt es in dieser Zone zudem Sportgeschäfte, Möbel- und Lebensmittelgeschäfte.

Informazioni sul comune


Cosa Vedere


Palazzo Cutò

Palazzo Cutò

Villa	Gualletti Inguaggiato

Villa Gualletti Inguaggiato

Villa	Villarosa

Villa Villarosa

Villa	Ramacca

Villa Ramacca

Chiesa Madrice

Chiesa Madrice

Chiesa delle Anime Sante

Chiesa delle Anime Sante

Chiesa del Santo Sepolcro

Chiesa del Santo Sepolcro

Villa San Cataldo

Villa San Cataldo

Villa Trabia

Villa Trabia

Villa Valguanera

Villa Valguanera

Palazzo Butera

Palazzo Butera

Villa Cattolica

Villa Cattolica

Villa Palagonia

Villa Palagonia


Condividi

RESTA AGGIORNATO SULLE NOSTRE INIZIATIVE

Segui i nostri canali social e iscriviti alla newsletter